New Zealand entry and transit requirements

All travellers entering or transiting New Zealand are subject to the Immigration Service's Advance Passenger Screening.

Under Advance Passenger Screening, your travel documents (including passport and any visas) are checked and validated before you board your flight to New Zealand. All documentation must be valid and up-to-date. Incomplete or invalid documentation may result in delays at check-in or even prevent you from boarding your flight. 

Visiting New Zealand

Transiting New Zealand 

Visiting New Zealand

You will need to apply for a visitor visa before you come to New Zealand if you are not from a visa waiver country/region.

United Kingdom and Australia

British citizens and other British passport holders who produce evidence of the right to reside permanently in the UK can visit for up to six months without a visitor visa. Australian citizens and people who hold a current Australian permanent residence visa or a current Australian resident return visa do not need a New Zealand visitor visa to enter New Zealand.

Other countries

People travelling to New Zealand on a one-way ticket must be one of the following:

  • A New Zealand passport holder
  • An Australian passport holder
  • A holder of a current permanent resident visa of Australia or a holder of a current Australian resident return visa allowing an indefinite stay
  • Other foreign national holding a valid New Zealand resident visa, New Zealand permanent resident visa, or New Zealand citizen endorsement
  • A holder of a New Zealand visa that clearly states "Return/onward ticket not required"

All other visitors to New Zealand must possess a return or onward ticket to a country/region to which you have right of entry.

If you are a visitor to New Zealand making a separate international journey from and returning to New Zealand before departing New Zealand on your onward ticket (e.g. travelling to Fiji and then returning to New Zealand), please remember to take your onward ticket with you. You will need to present this when checking in for your return flight to New Zealand.

If you do not hold an appropriate passport, visa or return ticket you may be required to purchase a ticket out of New Zealand to a country/region that you have right of entry prior to you being able to travel. Such tickets are non-refundable until you are fully able to satisfy the entry requirements of New Zealand.

Connecting to domestic flights

It's easy to connect to internal flights. Our domestic terminal is just a few minutes away by bus or on foot. It has restaurants, shops and easy check-in facilities for Air New Zealand passengers. A great way to start your Kiwi adventure.

Visa waiver countries/regions for travel to New Zealand

If you are visiting New Zealand for three months or less and are from a country/region in the list below, you will not need a visa to enter or to transit, but you will need to hold an outward ticket to a destination that you have the right of entry:

Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia1, Finland, France, Germany, Greece2, Hong Kong3, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea (South), Kuwait, Latvia1, Liechtenstein, Lithuania1, Luxembourg, Macao4, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal5, Qatar, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan6, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom7 , United States of America8, Uruguay and Vatican City.

For further information please see the visa-free country/region list at Immigration New Zealand.

Transiting New Zealand

Immigration New Zealand's transit visa policy requires transit visas for all travel through New Zealand, regardless of embarkation point or destination with an exception to citizens of:

  • New Zealand - or must be holders of a valid re-entry permit ("Returning resident's visa") issued by New Zealand and permitting unrestricted definite residence in New Zealand
  • Australia - or must be holders of a valid re-entry permit ("Resident return visa") issued by Australia and permitting unrestricted indefinite residence in Australia
  • Britain - holders of British passports provided holding passport endorsed 'British citizen' or passport that clearly establishes right of abode in the United Kingdom (max permitted stay 6 months); or in addition to their passport, alternative documentary evidence to establish right of abode in the United Kingdom; or passports endorsed "British national (overseas)" (max permitted stay three months)

Non-New Zealand citizens will be required to hold a transit visa unless:

  • They hold a current New Zealand visa
  • They are a citizen of Australia travelling with a valid Australian passport
  • They are a citizen from a visa waiver country/region
  • Their destination is Australia and they hold a current visa to enter Australia
  • They are a citizen of one or more of the countries/regions specified in the transit visa country/region waiver list

Transit visa country/region waiver list (through Auckland only)

Regardless of which country/region your travel commenced from or is for travel to - if you hold a passport for one of the following countries/regions, you do not need a Transit Visa if you transit through Auckland and your transit time does not exceed 24 hours from the time of your arrival.

Bahamas, Bermuda, Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Federated States of Micronesia, Indonesia, Kiribati, Nauru, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa (Western), Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Venezuela.

For further information please see the transit visa country/region waiver list at Immigration New Zealand.